Roll away your stone


This weekend was the first appearance of Halloween for me. I had a costume party to go to so I racked my brain trying to figure out a reasonable costume to wear. I wanted to look cute but i can’t very well go all slutface so I found a happy medium:


I was a Flapper and my friend Katie was a peacock. My mom basically made both of our costumes. I spend 30 bucks on the fringe, ribbon, feather, and fake cigarette holder. We hot glue gunned the fringe to an old slip thing I had. We made the headband and I bought leopard tights. I think I did well and spent WAY less on this than I would have on a plus size costume. It looked a hell of a lot better too if I do say so myself. It was another one of those nights where pretty much everyone else was drunk and I was NOT drinking. I am getting better at dealing with it. I end up just laughing at the douchebags who are all drunk. I was able to be rescued by my friends Jason and Heather since the people I came with kinda disappeared which of course pissed me off but I was the DD so I couldn’t just bounce. I know you don’t need liquor to have fun but in that social setting it may have put me less on edge. I just have this spastic moments of feeling like shit sometimes because I feel like being my weight I am socially awkward. I was the biggest girl in there dressed up. I should be proud that I am crossing boundaries and looking good while doing it but you KNOW how some people can be. I’m still staying positive because this may very well be the last Halloween i’m plus size. Who knows? I’m working hard. I did the elliptical yesterday and I’m going to try and walk today. We’ll see how it goes! Today I have to do some running around: dropping my sisters off at a friends house, going to get a sweater, and possibly seeing 50/50 because I REALLY want to see it. We shall see. Until later…

11 thoughts on “Roll away your stone

  1. I love your costume, Krystal! You look so hot in it. You should have been born in the 20s instead, because I think that really suits you. lol I’ve always wanted to be a flapper for Halloween. I haven’t worn a costume since I was 15 though. 😦 Maybe next year.

  2. You look great in your costume!! You guys did a great job on it! I have to work this Halloween so I don’t get to dress up 😦

  3. First off, you look amazing! I love the costume…and I love it even more because you managed to throw it all together on your own. I’m the least crafty person I know. I’ve curbed the amount of drinking I do, and I’ve definitely noticed how different social situations are when everyone else is tanked and you’re completely sober. It’s definitely awkward and sometimes uncomfortable…until I remind myself, “Hey! Everyone is drunk and slurring their speech. They can’t even tell who you are at this point. Who cares?!”

    • Ah thanks love! I had quite a bit of help from the momma dukes. You are so right about the slurring part. I was watching some of this douche bags thinking “ew you spit on me saying hi.”

  4. Pingback: Wait, do you see my heart on my sleeve? It’s been there for days on end « Confessions Of A Certified Fat Chick

Leave a Reply

