a true fattie asking should SHE get a room?


SO I have been mulling over the words penned(or should I say typed) on MARIE CLAIRE’s website. As a certified fat chick and a watcher of Mike & Molly I was very upset to read those words. You could feel the hate and pure disgust coming from the writers fingertips. Read the article. I’ll wait.

Fucked up, yes? Now, I have said this before that I don’t think being obese is awesome. Not at all. I have beeing doing Weight Watchers off and on all this year. I want nothing more than to be a healthy weight. Seriously. But… she doesn’t get it. Being overweight is a struggle. I don’t want to be fa. I don’t want to have the slowest metabolism on the planet. I don’t want to look at my skinny friends with down right envy. I don’t want to have to shop for sizes most PLUS size don’t even carry. For this writer to just beat up on fat people like that is… inhumane. The characters on the show are trying to lose weight! They go to over eaters anonymous because HELLO over eating is an addiction. The “skinnies” can say what they want about that but until you’ve been inside the mind of a fatty you don’t know shit so keep your mouth shut. It is so easy to gain weight. I swear to you I can gain weight drinking a glass of water. To lose weight is a struggle and a HALF! For this woman to write about it like it’s some simple snap of the fingers is stupid. So fucking ignorant.

So anyway, yes, I think I’d be grossed out if I had to watch two characters with rolls and rolls of fat kissing each other … because I’d be grossed out if I had to watch them doing anything. To be brutally honest, even in real life, I find it aesthetically displeasing to watch a very, very fat person simply walk across a room — just like I’d find it distressing if I saw a very drunk person stumbling across a bar or a heroine addict slumping in a chair.

So. If you see a girl like me… lets say WALKING because I am trying to lose weight you would be disgusted? It goes back to a post I had written awhile ago… I am not happy with my size. Shit most fat people… aren’t happy. Maybe thats why they are the way they are? Half of my reasons for overeating stems from major bullying and HELLO!!!! That article was an attack! I am not allowed to make out with a guy huh? Keep it to myself because of my rolls of rolls of fat. So mean. A fat person feels enough scrutiny and to have an article like that written about “fatties” is so demeaning. The apology her editor made her write doesn’t erase the words she has written and obviously is her Gods honest opinion. She thinks that forrealsies. I refuse to be depressed over it any longer though. I am making steps but people who aren’t over weight really need to realize yes we fucked up but our personal issues for being fat and making us over eat or even our genetic make up is a serious issue. Lucky I am not seventeen again I would be cutting little cuts in my ankle over this shit.

**edit **
due to a recent comment I guess I should clarify myself… and this blog. My thoughts are not to upset or make people become totally unconfortable. Yes, I can be a bit of a Luna Lovegood when it comes to my obvious insecurities but when I say most big/fat people I mean the most I know especially including myself because thisis kinda my public diary. I know there are different and secure and perfectly happy healthy big fat people half the time I am talking about the miserable ones like me. I am a bit cynical because of the shoes I have walked in but… I guess I should say if I offend you or make you uncomfortable it is not my intention nor is it to offend the happy cfc and cfd(certified fat dudes) so if you feel strongly about my blog and is offensiveness I must suggest not reading it because the last thing I want is to impose my negativity unto you .

7 thoughts on “a true fattie asking should SHE get a room?

  1. While I agree with many of your comments, I think you miss the point of a lot of the anger, apart from the sheer inhumanity of the article — there are a lot of fat people who actually are (surprise suprise) perfectly happy and healthy the way they are. Moreover, a lot of this “but it’s not healthy” talk you find in fat-bashing is pretty much code word for people saying “but but but I don’t find you attractive and I need to find a fake way to make myself not seem like an asshole.” She speaks like being thin = being healthy. It does not. And even if it did, a person’s weight is nobody’s business but there own.

    I really recommend reading Fatshionista, its corresponding LiveJournal community, Fat! So?, and Shapely Prose—they are all real eye openers when it comes to the Fat Acceptance/Health At Every Size movement. I am not negating the feelings you have about yourself, nor your own desire to lose weight — but you do tend to generalize and project a lot of your own (understandable) insecurities on other fat people in your blog posts, and it does make me a little uncomfortable sometimes. I say all of this, of course, with immense love and respect.

    • I guess I do generalize but I saw most… because my big friends are definitely unhappy with their weight. I know maybe 1 or 2 people that are okay with their size. If you feel unconfortable reading then I’d understand if you don’t read any longer. But this blog is kinda like my diary and me sharing my view points whether or not that makes me just as bad as that woman who wrote the above said article then that sucks. But I don’t mean to be cruel. I am writing from personal experience. I am living my size and I am seeing with my own eyes peoples self loathing with their obesity and overweightness. But like I said if you don’t want to read anymore… thats fine.

  2. I read that article this morning…and…

    I understand that we all have personal preferences. I mean, me, personally..I dont wanna watch anyone make out. But..that article, as you said, was not just written to point out simple personal preferences. It was an attack on overweight people. No..not just obese people…it was an attack on EVERY OVERWEIGHT PERSON. It was written with pure hate, and pure disgust..and, quite frankly…know that whomever wrote that article exists in this Earth…..disgusts me MUCH, MUCH more than two big people kissing.

  3. Hey Krystal that was pretty messed up what that woman said. I think of my mom and all the crap she was trying to do to get healthy. Your right it is very difficult to loose weight and very easy to gain. Keep taking the steps and stay positive I know you can do it and I’m here if you need me. I know I am struggling wtih the weight loss as well but we can both do it!

  4. I agree with just about every single thing you post. Your opinions are my opinions and my mothers as well. Coming from a big person and a previous big person I would say that even though you generalize big girls opinions….that is the way most big girls feel. And regarding the comment that was left it would surprise me to find a big person who was happy with their weight. Most thin or average people are not even satisfied with their weight or their bodies.

Leave a Reply

