9.11


My friend Leslie wrote this awesome short but sweet blog about today h

Nine years ago today…religious extremism changed our country forever, and needlessly took the lives of over three thousand innocent people. Take a moment today, just a moment, to not only pay tribute to the lives lost in vain, in the name of nothing…for no reason..whatsoever, but to meditate on just why these people had to pay the ultimate price of their lives. Take a moment to understand that this is just one of many ways that religion can hurt, and even kill. Yes..this is fanaticism, but it was not so long ago in the timeline of history that the followers of Christianity… were using horrible torture devices on innocent people in other parts of the world…just because they did not follow the same religion. Even more recently, in our own country, did the followers of the same religion torture, and kill many innocent women at the hands of pointless fear caused
It is time to stop this. No more innocent lives lost in the name of religion. NO MORE!

I love how she writes. She says things I am thinking and says it better than I could. You see, 9 years ago today, I was a freshman in high school and I was daunted by gangly tall boys who didn’t give a shit about the overweight, frizzy haired, freshman not so much the news. I was in gym when it happened and I had no idea what was happening until I walked into the lunch room to eat and saw on every T.V. the horror that was happening. At 13 I really had no idea what was actually happening. Fire in the twin towers? The volume was low and all I could read was a plane crashed into one of the twin towers. We were ushered to our next block class and I remember feeling no sense of danger. I had no idea what was really going on. School let out about an hour later and I was walking around the neighborhood with my friend Nicole at the time. Unaware that dangerous things may be happening closer than we thought. Young, dumb, thinking we were invincible. I just really had no understanding. It wasn’t until later in the day, watching the news, and seeing everything over and over again did I realize what happpened. Of course now, 9 years later, I am well aware of what has happened and I have seen all of the footage. I feel a little like it was a movie and it’s hard to believe something like this happened in our time period. It makes me think of my future children and how they’re going to learn about 9.11.2001 in their history books like we learned about the world wars and vietnam. How we learned about Pearl Harbor. As I am on some serious pain killers for my wisdom teeth thing so I am feeling a bit floaty and hazed but I felt the urgency to blog about today. To share what was going on through my head 9 years ago. Which wasn’t much. I was a vapid self involved 13 year old and the fear didn’t grip me until later. Now, I watch the footage on youtube and I still feel this weird feeling like it wasn’t that far from us in Delaware. That and the plane that went down in PA. My heart goes out to the families and friends who lost someone due to that tragedy. It is the saddest thing and it was a senseless thing. I hope something like this doesn’t happen again but we all know it will. History repeats itself.

One thought on “9.11

  1. It definitely is unbelievable that this happened during our time. I was a senior in high school when this happened and I still remember everything as clear as day. Not only that but it ended up being the topic of our senior project so I basically followed news coverage, articles and stories day by day.

Leave a Reply

